XF 2.0.11 Issue with release ZIP (to be addressed in 2.0.12)

Discussion in 'XenForo' started by MarkFL, Nov 27, 2018.

1. MarkFL

MarkFL La Villa Strangiato

+1,710
    Hello all!

I help admin a site running XF 2.0.11, and I run a copy of the owner's software on my local drive. I recently created my first XF addon using this local copy. Running the site in development mode, I found an impressive array of develop's tools. As a vB coder I found many things to be much easier and more straightforward in the development process...I'm extremely impressed :cool:

As my final step, I ran the cmd.php script from a Windows 10 command terminal, and all looked good:

taz_xf2dev_cmd_0001.png
    However, when I visited the _releases folder, I am unable to extract the generated ZIP file using Windows 10's native extraction utility. I sent the file to a friend of mine, and he confirmed that on his end, Windows 7 was also unable to extract the file, however he had no issue using Linux.

I did some digging and found that Chris DChris D has posted at the XF support site that this is a known issue, and is scheduled to be addressed in XF 2.0.12, which is good news.

I also wanted to report that when running the build script, the file "hashes.json" was not generated, and casued a warning to be given when installing my addon to the live math help site. I ignored the warning, and proceeded anyway, and the install was a success. I just wanted to mention it in case I have neglected some step which prevented it from being generated.

Thanks to all for reading! :D

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative! Informative! x 1
    • Appreciation Appreciation x 1
    • List
  2. Destroy Repeat

Destroy Repeat DestroyRepeat.com

+83
    This issue is also plaguing the beta releases, also F.Y.I.

Also to be fixed.

• Informative! Informative! x 2
    • List
  3. MarkFL

MarkFL La Villa Strangiato

+1,710