What to do with duplicated content?

Discussion in 'Forum SEO' started by Sylvain, Oct 28, 2016.

1. Sylvain

Sylvain Enthusiast

+61
    I've been posting news on my Wordpress blog for many years. I was cutting text on the original site and then paste it on my blog. I didn't realize it was duplicated content.

Now, what can I do with this duplicated content? If I add a "noindex" to my news category, will it fix the duplicated content?

Thanks

2. MikeDVB

MikeDVB Fan

+38
    Do you mean to say you're being penalized for duplicating pre-existing content? If so - having it not indexed may or may not remove the penalty.

Honestly it's always best to have original / unique content. Copying content from other places isn't really a legitimate way to grow your site in most cases.

3. Sylvain

Sylvain Enthusiast

+61
    I've exclude the category in my sitemap config. Now I guess Just have to wait and see what will happen.

4. princenuce

princenuce Neophyte

+0
    I think if you fix it now and wait for google update, it will not matter what

5. ManovikasSociety

ManovikasSociety Neophyte

+0
    Spine the original content and post

6. BrandonSheley

BrandonSheley loving life

+844
    Does the content mix in with everything else on your site?
    ..eg if your site is about ford trucks is the content your coping about ford trucks as well?
    If so I wouldn't do anything about it, let google see it all.
    Also this assumes the content your coping is a small percentage of your overall content on your site.

If the only thing on your site is copied content, then you might be screwed.

7. BGObsession

BGObsession Participant

+39