Webpage Title Tags

Discussion in 'vBulletin' started by Pigoo, Mar 30, 2019.

1. Pigoo

Pigoo Participant

+16
    I've been reading about Webpage title tags...and two things that are almost always mentioned are:

- Each web page should have it own title tag.
    - Each web page should have a unique title tag.

When it comes to vBulletin websites...I've been told that you only need to enter a title tag once & only once in the head or headinclude template.

Thus the question is:

If it's good practice for each web page to have its own title tag & that each title tag for each web page is unique...how does entering a title tag only once in the vBulletin headinclude template optimize the use of webpage title tags?

Thanks

2. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Senior Citizen

+601
    I've got zero experience with vB 4 or 5, but on vB3, I used conditionals to add the <title> and the <h1> heading tag to a page. You'll find a list of conditionals in the documentation. Sometimes the conditional was an if/else kinda thing - if the page had a thread title, that was used, if it had nothing else to go on, I used the board title.

3. Joeychgo

Joeychgo TAZ Administrator

+3,438
    vBulletin 4 & 5 add title tags automatically. It uses factors like the board name, thread name and sub forum name for the title information and uses the first post for page description information.

upload_2019-4-1_22-34-58.png

4. Pigoo

Pigoo Participant

+16
    Thanks Joeychgo. Not sure if those images were part of your answer to me...or if they're a glitch.;)

If vB 4 & 5 does the title tag info automatically for each page...how is it controlled...setup...or modified. Is there a setting in the admincp?

5. Joeychgo

+3,438
    yes, they were.

No setting. You have to change the coding. Its been years since I did it so I don't remember exactly. Paul MPaul M might be able to help.

6. Pigoo

Pigoo Participant

+16
    Ahh...this is something I would DEFINITELY like to learn more about!!!:)

Thanks