Switching to Xenforo, looking for some advice!

InSite

Aspirant
Hello all!

(Sorry for the wall of text - just excited to be here I guess!)

I have been using vBulletin since 2002 (holy cow, I just looked that up on their forums), and for the last few years or so I haven't had the need to make any major updates to my website. Recently, however, I decided to give it a facelift, and that was an eye-opening experience to say the least. I caught up on all the drama with the vBulletin 5 release, staff departures, lawsuits, and probably the saddest part for me, the decline of a once awesome community of modders who were the real reason I stayed with vBulletin all these years.

Adding simple features missing in stock vBulletin was a minefield, going over mods and posts from 2012 - 2013 that were no longer updated. Every demo page or modders page I visited had switched to Xenforo, and I realised I was in for a battle to get things exactly how I wanted. I spend about 3 months working on my site, patching everything in and getting it just right. And then it dawned on me - the first problem I have with any of this code, and I have to start almost from scratch JUST to have a forum that can ALMOST keep up with all the new software out there. I had to change.

So now I am setting up a new Xenforo forum. To someone like me, who has been out of practise anyway and so used to how things are done in vBulletin, it's a steep learning curve. I hate to admit, but I still think mainly in tables, so all this CSS stuff makes me break out into cold sweats! Luckily I made one very good choice from the beginning, and that was to spend a lot of time researching theme developers, and I found PixelExit, who has already gone above and beyond the call of duty to help me with a few customisation issues.

And that brings me today!