PHP7 Compatability

Fillip H.

Developer
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
208
Do you expect the IPv6 changes to cause issues for some plugins e.g. Spam-O-Matic? I would test it myself, but I've had an IPv6 solution setup via Cloudflare and a custom made plugin for well over a year now.
We're using SOM as well, no CF though. At the moment, I'm not noticing any IPv6 addresses in the SOM log. Not sure if that's what you wanted me to check, if not feel free to clarify and I can see if I find anything :)


Fillip
 

chown

Aspirant
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
25
We're using SOM as well, no CF though. At the moment, I'm not noticing any IPv6 addresses in the SOM log. Not sure if that's what you wanted me to check, if not feel free to clarify and I can see if I find anything :)
I'd like to know if SOM will log IPv6 addresses correctly and if the plugin will actually block spam from IPv6 addresses. You probably won't know the answer to that until you get hit with some spam though.

You've had to update a handful of your plugins to support IPv6, right? So I would imagine that there's going to be compatibility issues with some older popular plugins.

Personally I'm trying to gauge if it's worth testing IPv6 support. It's just that in it's current state it doesn't look like it's possible to ban IPv6 addresses, but via my Cloudflare solution I can ban pseudo IPv4 addresses, I get automatic HTTPS rewrites & I've got better plugin compatibility.
 
Last edited:

Fillip H.

Developer
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
208
I'd like to know if SOM will log IPv6 addresses correctly and if the plugin will actually block spam from IPv6 addresses. You probably won't know the answer to that until you get hit with some spam though.
Yeah, I don't think I've had any attempts from IPv6 spammers yet.

You've had to update a handful of your plugins to support IPv6, right? So I would imagine that there's going to be compatibility issues with some older popular plugins.
I did, yeah, I personally just changed the ipaddress columns to I think varchar(46) or something.


Fillip
 

Paul M

Limeade Addict
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,850
I dont know anything about Spam-O-Matic, so I cannot comment on that.

IPv6 banning works fine for me in 4.2.5
Just remember you need to use the short version of the IP6 address.

(e.g. FE80::202:B3FF:FE1E:8350, not FE80:0000:0000:0000:0202:B3FF:FE1E:8350)

Wildcard values still work as well (e.g. FE80::202:B3FF:*)
 

chown

Aspirant
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
25
IPv6 banning works fine for me in 4.2.5
Just remember you need to use the short version of the IP6 address.
I didn't know that because it's literally not mentioned anywhere. Maybe it's worth adding what you've said here to the settings description?

Thanks.
 

Paul M

Limeade Addict
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,850
I didn't know that because it's literally not mentioned anywhere. Maybe it's worth adding what you've said here to the settings description?
About using the short version? Thats probably not a bad idea, if I remember, i'll add something.
 

chown

Aspirant
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
25
About using the short version? Thats probably not a bad idea, if I remember, i'll add something.
Yes. It's a good way to tell people that you can ban IPv6 addresses and what format needs to be used.
 

BirdOPrey5

#Awesome
Joined
Aug 14, 2008
Messages
4,217
Yes. It's a good way to tell people that you can ban IPv6 addresses and what format needs to be used.
For the record you should be IP Banning from the server level, perhaps .htaccess file. Banning them in vBulletin is easy but wasteful in resources. Most of vBulletin loads anyway and every IP address blocked is loaded into memory on every page load.

These days most users should have banning tools elsewhere (like cPanel) which make IP banning easier than 10+ years ago when that feature was first added to VB and simply never removed.
 

we_are_borg

Administrator
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
5,371
For the record you should be IP Banning from the server level, perhaps .htaccess file. Banning them in vBulletin is easy but wasteful in resources. Most of vBulletin loads anyway and every IP address blocked is loaded into memory on every page load.

These days most users should have banning tools elsewhere (like cPanel) which make IP banning easier than 10+ years ago when that feature was first added to VB and simply never removed.
That said i like it when you can do this in software (all scripts) it self, because its faster to get some one off your site. Because login in into the AdminCP is faster then going to FTP (.htaccess) or cPanel, so you block him/here fatser. But you are right the firewall should be the one kicking some one off your site for long term vBulletin or any other script is only there for a few hours at most.
 

chown

Aspirant
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
25
For the record you should be IP Banning from the server level, perhaps .htaccess file. Banning them in vBulletin is easy but wasteful in resources. Most of vBulletin loads anyway and every IP address blocked is loaded into memory on every page load.

These days most users should have banning tools elsewhere (like cPanel) which make IP banning easier than 10+ years ago when that feature was first added to VB and simply never removed.
While that's true, I do have other watered down admin accounts on my website. They need a way to ban IP addresses and I'm not about to give out access to my control panel, so that's the easiest and safest way for them to do it.

Any IP addresses that are banned in vBulletin are normally removed after a few days, but anything that needs to be permanently banned I control via Cloudflare. And yes, I know that using a .htaccess file is another option for most people, but I don't use Apache ;)
 

Alfa1

Administrator
Joined
May 28, 2007
Messages
3,881
We (or the system) first add to forum admincp and then either remove or add to LiteSpeed admin panel.
 

mysiteguy

Devotee
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
2,981
This fubar'd my admincp. It's not loading css files and the background is white. I saw that it was trying to load files with "b2" appended to the name which are missing the in the beta tar file. I copied the regular versions of those files to the b2 version, still no dice... white background.
 

Paul M

Limeade Addict
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,850
Is 4.2.5 Beta 2 the latest version of this?
Yes.

This fubar'd my admincp. It's not loading css files and the background is white. I saw that it was trying to load files with "b2" appended to the name which are missing the in the beta tar file. I copied the regular versions of those files to the b2 version, still no dice... white background.
TBH, I dont really even know what you mean by this, no files have b2 in their name (or b1, or anything like that).
The ACP works perfectly fine for me and [afaik] everyone else - nothing much has really changed in it, esp the css which is basically unchanged since vB3.
 

Fillip H.

Developer
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
208
The ACP works perfectly fine for me and [afaik] everyone else - nothing much has really changed in it, esp the css which is basically unchanged since vB3.
Works perfectly fine for me too, both locally and @ DBTech. We do not use any 3rd party cpstyles, I grew up with "vBulletin 3 Default" and I'll stick to it! :p


Fillip
 

mysiteguy

Devotee
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
2,981
Yes.


TBH, I dont really even know what you mean by this, no files have b2 in their name (or b1, or anything like that).
The ACP works perfectly fine for me and [afaik] everyone else - nothing much has really changed in it, esp the css which is basically unchanged since vB3.
Found the issue, it was on my end, something very bizarre. I have a mod_substitute rule in .htaccess that matches on date and version strings, and expects them in a certain format. The beta changed the format from only numeric to numeric plus a b2 at the end. Changed the rule to match alpha characters as well and it's work now.
 

chown

Aspirant
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
25
Try to edit, report or view a comments IP address in an album and you'll get the following error.

Code:
Database error in vBulletin 4.2.5 Beta 2:

Invalid SQL:

       SELECT *, ipdata.ip AS ipaddress
       FROM vb_picturecomment
       LEFT JOIN vb_ipdata AS ipdata ON (ipdata.ipid = picturecomment.ipaddress)
       WHERE
           picturecomment.commentid = 36
               AND
           picturecomment.filedataid = 5275
               AND
           picturecomment.userid = 20332;

MySQL Error   : Unknown column 'picturecomment.commentid' in 'where clause'
Is anyone else able to reproduce this issue?

If I restore the fetch_picturecommentinfo function from beta 1 then I get no database errors, but viewing the IP address doesn't work as you'd expect it to.
 
Last edited:

Fillip H.

Developer
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
208
Try to edit, report or view a comments IP address in an album and you'll get the following error.

Code:
Database error in vBulletin 4.2.5 Beta 2:

Invalid SQL:

       SELECT *, ipdata.ip AS ipaddress
       FROM vb_picturecomment
       LEFT JOIN vb_ipdata AS ipdata ON (ipdata.ipid = picturecomment.ipaddress)
       WHERE
           picturecomment.commentid = 36
               AND
           picturecomment.filedataid = 5275
               AND
           picturecomment.userid = 20332;

MySQL Error   : Unknown column 'picturecomment.commentid' in 'where clause'
Is anyone else able to reproduce this issue?

If I restore the fetch_picturecommentinfo function from beta 1 then I get no database errors, but viewing the IP address doesn't work as you'd expect it to.
1. Log it in Jira :)
2. Open /includes/functions_picturecomment.php (Beta 2 version) and find
Code:
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "picturecomment
replace with
Code:
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "picturecomment AS picturecomment

Fillip
 

Paul M

Limeade Addict
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,850
Technically its a Beta 4 fix, as Beta 3 was finalised yesterday for the weekend, but Ive merged it back as well.

Sadly, the Beta 3 releases over the weekend will probably be my last. **


(**Please dont discuss that here, use https://theadminzone.com/threads/leaving-ib.143677/)
 
Last edited:
Top