Newbie trying to decide which way to go: Vbulletin vs. PHPBB

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by biggjoe, Jul 27, 2005.

1. biggjoe

biggjoe Participant

+1
    Hello All;

I work for a small company and we're in the process of giving our entire "support process" an overhaul.

During this process, we decided that having PHP-based forums/bulletin boards would be beneficial to our various customers.

We are total newbies in regards to the world of PHP, BulletinBoards/Forums and creating online communities in general.

At the moment, we're trying to decide whether we should "take the plunge" with PHPBB since it's included with our WebHost (via Fantastico)...or if we should pay for something like VBulletin.

The problem is, we don't know enough about either product to make an informed decision.

If possible, can anyone assist us in our decision by posting advantages/disadvantages of both options?

This would include setup/support, user management, private vs. public forum access, database maintenance and etc.

We would be especially interested in small-to-midsize company's that are currently using either option as part of their support process/structure.

Thank you very much in advance!

BiggJoe

:confused:

2. Hunter

Hunter SportsTwo.com

+2
    If you are able to afford vBulletin don't even think twice about it. It is the best software out there at the moment and it is a joke to compare vB and phpbb when money is not the issue.

vBulletin is more customizable not to mention that you get excellent support and far more features then your lackluster phpbb can offer.

I have used both boards in the past and vB is the superior product, hands down.

3. shellspeare

shellspeare Uninteresting

+29
  4. snowcrash

snowcrash loafing

+1