My Move to WBB - A Review

Discussion in 'WoltLab Burning Board' started by Horizon, Jun 23, 2017.

1. Horizon

Horizon Participant

+66
    I am a new admin and have the technical ability of a donkey, so....

The negatives first:

A lack of a manual has been a major hindrance to me. It's taken and still taking an excessive amount of time to set things up. The attitude of Woltlab appears to be, its easy to use, you just need to get familiar with it...

There are some functions which are impossible to know how to use them without a manual, ie when I switched software, something went wrong and some data was lost including member passwords. There was no function/button visible to automatically reset passwords, so I had to do everyone's manually and send members emails manually too. (BTW It's quite hard to send just one member a email, very basic function missing...) Woltlab told me there was a automatic password reset function and once they told me how to activate it, it is easy to use. But how could I know this, without a manual, as said there is no visible button. It took me a lot of time.

The other major gripe is there appears to be a "German" way of doing things that is different from the English way of doing things, or perhaps this is specific to Woltlab. What Woltlab consider minor or irrelevant to them, I do not, aka members being able to see a list of their own posts. Someone has just made a plugin to sort this out, but it should be in the core. There are lots of basic things missing, ie no "contact us" page, poor mod features and other things.

The Germans, due to their history and current law, have a issue with IPs and not wanting to show them. I have no way to identify members coming onto my site because their IPs do not show in the very very basic member area.