Merging two active forums

Discussion in 'Managing an Online Community' started by Karll, Sep 6, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Karll

Karll Adherent

+160
    The goddess of fortune is smiling at me - I'm taking over the ownership of another forum in my niche!

The new forum is smaller in terms of posts, but has a better domain name. (More on-topic, better from a SEO perspective, I guess.) Both forums are on XF2.1.

At some point, I would like to merge the two forums.

I'm a relatively technically abled person, but I've never done this sort of thing before.

There is also the human factor to consider. I don't want to upset the members too much, but obviously there will be some changes going forward!

Does anyone have experience in this area or tips for success that they'd like to share?

2. we_are_borg

we_are_borg Administrator

+2,107
    The one i am thinking of that might know is mysiteguy maybe he knows.

3. zappaDPJ

zappaDPJ Administrator

+5,330
    I've done a couple of test 2.0 to 2.0 imports using the Xenforo 2 importer. I'd check first but I don't see any reason why this won't work for 2.1. There are a few steps to consider most of which can be found here: https://xenforo.com/xf2-docs/manual/importing/

Member issues are likely to give you much more of a headache. Obviously you'll need to keep the two groups informed but the biggest issue in my experience is one group is going to suffer a loss of identity while the other has to endure an invasion of new members. All I can advise is to keep up a dialogue with both groups, especially the staff on both forums and don't waste time on minor issues.

• Informative! Informative! x 1
    • List
  4. Kevin

Kevin Oooh, something shiny!

+1,191