Looking at options for having a test server at home

Discussion in 'Servers and Control Panels' started by steve00, Apr 3, 2018.

1. steve00

steve00 IPB Skinner

+125
    Currently using Xampp on my PC (Windows) as a test server but am looking to find other ways of having home server.

Ideally something that is not using my PC for its resources (e.g perhaps some kind external hard drive connected to my router ... if that is possible)

Do not want to use another PC as server due to space and cost

So am hoping someone can give me some help and suggestions on what options there are to setup at home (and how easy to setup), would I need to install an OS on the external hard drive or any other help/suggestions/ideas appreciated

Have read that appears some external hard drives (e.g. MyBook) are not powerful enough to run as a server.

Am a complete noob to all this other than as said installing Xampp on home PC

Thanking in advance

2. Matthew S

Matthew S Adherent

+178
    You can't install an OS on an external hard drive, per se. You still need a computer to actually do things. That will require some money and some space. But, it needn't be overly costly, or huge. Try something like this. It will definitely work with any Linux distro you throw at it, it will run headless (no monitor), and it's not very big.

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative! Informative! x 1
    • List
  3. we_are_borg

we_are_borg Moderator

+1,722