IPS Hosting

NewToAllThis

Participant
It looks like I'm going forward with IPS as my forum software.

Has anyone used them as a host as well??

What are the benefits/cons?

Maybe I'm way off, but I feel like their pricing is a bit high...$20/mo for 25 users & 1gb of storage. The dislaimer states they calculate # users in a 48hr period!

However, I'm a TOTAL beginner to this stuff, so I would imagine if there's a problem with the site, they could help me immensely since it's their servers & software.

Any recommendations?

Lycaon

Devotee
I haven't used their hosting service so can't if it's any good.

As for the pricing itself, it really depends on what you need, in the long term buying a license is more beneficial, if you only require the forum then 9 months at $20 and you've paid for the license.

Even if you needed all of the add-ons that's still only 16 months of $20 to pay for them.

Personally I wouldn't use their hosting. I'd prefer to own the licenses out right.

NewToAllThis

Participant

As for the pricing itself, it really depends on what you need, in the long term buying a license is more beneficial, if you only require the forum then 9 months at $20 and you've paid for the license.

Even if you needed all of the add-ons that's still only 16 months of $20 to pay for them.

Personally I wouldn't use their hosting. I'd prefer to own the licenses out right.

This is a long term commitment for me...i'm throwing some good money into this with the hope of it helping me retire in 20yrs :)

Why do you prefer to own the license? With the cost of hosting with other companies, I thought it might be better to simply let the software owner host...but this is flawed logic?

Lycaon

Devotee
I wouldn't say it's flawed as such but not only are you paying them for hosting, in a way you're paying to lease a license from them too.

It reminds me of the old leased license from vBulletin - You have the use of the software but don't actually own it as such.