How many users does one need to start seeing revenue?

Discussion in 'Generating Revenue' started by kelsdesj, Feb 9, 2018.

1. kelsdesj

kelsdesj Neophyte

+0
    Hey guys! I'm a student intern for looking to learn about launching a forum for my internship. We are hoping to build a forum for a supportive community of musicians but I have a couple of questions before we are able to get the wheels turning.

How many users does one need to start seeing revenue?

also

How long does a forum typically run for before they start seeing profit?

2. Dubbed Navigator

Dubbed Navigator Enthusiast

+73
    How many users do you envisage joining?

I think you will be waiting for a long, long time.

3. Gnomenclature

Gnomenclature Aspirant

+20
    It also depends on what things people are willing to pay for.

A general rule of business is don't expect a profit for 3 years.

Also, if you're getting into the forum business for profit, it can be done obviously, but don't plan on it. A very busy religion forum I was on for years made a whole $6.11 per month on ad revenue. woot

Without some fairly exclusive content someone is willing to pay for, it's a tough sell.

LIke I could make a cooking and canning site today, and easily attract users, but they won't pay because an idiot and a little Google Fu can find a reasonable recipe, and YouTube is filled with demos on topics I'd cover.

If I wanted to make money on my cooking cred I'd open a YouTube channel and set up Patreon for that.

4. LeadCrow

LeadCrow Apocalypse Admin

+1,925
    There's no immediate relation between user count and revenue. As for business models, you can mix up and see what works for you.

1. If you're going with user funding, you only need a few active users willing to keep donating a monthly 1$ or better on Patreon. It's coffeecup-cheap for anyone valueing your community.