How many moderators / staff does the average forum have?

Discussion in 'Members & Staff' started by kelsdesj, Feb 13, 2018.

1. kelsdesj

kelsdesj Neophyte

+0
    Hey guys! I'm a student intern for looking to learn about launching a forum for my internship. We are hoping to build a forum for a supportive community of musicians but I have a couple of questions before we are able to get the wheels turning.

How many moderators / staff does the average forum have?

Also

What do they pay this staff?

2. we_are_borg

we_are_borg Moderator

+1,400
    It all depends how big the site is, when you start you alone is more then enough. After time you can ask users of your site to become a moderator. Payment is the honor to become a moderator not many sites give payment.

3. Nev_Dull

Nev_Dull Anachronism

+572
    If you're just starting the forum, the answer is none. Once you get the thing up and running, you will need only as many as it takes to perform the functions you have set out for the forum. There is no set number of staff needed for a forum. It will depend entirely on how busy your forum becomes. It's also far more important to have a very few competent staff members than many incompetent ones. (By competent, I mean able to deal with members calmly and fairly, without bias or emotional investment.)

Unless your forum is a commercial venture, most forum staff are volunteers. If you decide to use paid staff, you'll have to work out a compensation structure that fits in your business budget and reflects the various levels of responsibility.

4. Gnomenclature

Gnomenclature Aspirant

+20
    It also depends in large part whether your typical discussion topics are controversial or not. And what your standards are.

I've moderated Religion forums and they have got to be the most time intensive. It's a rough topic, and I always needed more mods for that than say a crafting or cooking discussion area.