Header bidding!?

Discussion in 'Generating Revenue' started by kontrabass, Oct 26, 2017.

1. kontrabass

kontrabass Participant

+24
    I get several emails per week from different ad networks/exchanges whatever they're called, telling me we're missing out on a 45%+ increase on ad revenue because we need to use their header bidding solution.

I've been selling ads on our forum since 2000, but I need your help on this header bidding stuff. Is this something we need to do? We direct-sell maybe 10% of our inventory and pass the rest to AdSense (we use DFP). With Adsense, we get like $1.50 eCPM for our top leaderboard, and $.30 - $.60 eCPM for other ad slots on the page.

Thanks for your help all!

• Also Wondering! Also Wondering! x 1
    • List
  2. Oldsmoboi

Oldsmoboi Fan

+261
    Who are these ad exchanges, can you give some examples?

I'm very suspicious of anyone who can make a claim to increase my revenue when they don't know what my revenue is or what I'm doing to get it.

3. kontrabass

kontrabass Participant

+24
    Recently, it's Sortable.com, Snigel Web, Crispox, etc.

Here's one I got today from Snigel Web

I wanted to send you a quick note to emphasise the negative impact that could affect your ad revenue and CPMs by not implementing "ads.txt" to your website. Google have launched the ads.txt initiative in order to 'clean up' the ad industry to allow more transparency between publishers and advertisers and to avoid ad fraud. Read more about the initiative - here

What most publishers don't realise is that failure to implement this file will result in a decline in AdSense and other network advertisers CPMs and revenue as more and more advertisers exclusively only buy inventory on sites with the ads.txt file in place. Most people will not realise the cause for this so I am writing to you to share this piece of information as a publisher who runs a significant amount of revenue through AdSense.