End of Artodia styles

Discussion in 'XenForo' started by Arty, Nov 30, 2018.

1. Arty

Arty Developer

+90
    Developing styles for XenForo was fun, it is a brilliant piece of software.

However it is time to change. I held off this decision for as long as possible. This is the end for my XenForo styles. Old XenForo 1 styles will not be re-written for XenForo 2 and I won't be making new XenForo 2 styles any time soon. It has nothing to do with XenForo - it is great, many years ahead of other forum systems and content management systems. I'm doing it because I don't have time to juggle multiple projects. It is not fair for customers to keep promising to update styles, when I don't have time to do it. I'd rather fully focus on my new project than juggle multiple projects.

I have been developing forum styles for over 10 years. First for phpBB, then for XenForo. Time to do something else.

My new project is Iconify. It is open source SVG framework that is designed to replace glyph fonts. Unlike with glyph fonts where designer is tied to fixed number of icons, designer can choose over 30,000 icons, including FontAwesome, Material Design Icons, Entypo+, Ant Design and others.

This post now sounds more like advertising with short plug of my new project :) But it benefits forums too. Right now I'm working on integrating Iconify with XenForo. Integration is free add-on that designers and add-on authors can bundle with their styles and add-ons. It features new types of input: xf:iconbox (similar to XenForo color picker) that represents icon and shows icon picker, making it easy to select icons and some other stuff. So I'm not completely gone. I'll be releasing add-ons for XenForo.

If you can, please help out with spreading word about Iconify. I'm very interested in feedback from designers to make project a serious viable open source alternative to glyph fonts.

Announcement on Artodia.com forum: https://www.artodia.com/threads/end-of-forum-style-development.3278/