"Could not get style data" Help?

Discussion in 'phpBB' started by BlackTheorem, Apr 3, 2010.

1. BlackTheorem

BlackTheorem Neophyte

+0
    I'm fairly new to making sites, but I understand and pick up stuff pretty quickly.

For some reason, i can't log into my phpbb site, and it gives me that error whenever I try to go onto the index or any part of the forum. I can't even log into ACP. I'm seriously confused, and if anyone has any idea on what to do, then by all means, post.

Thnx

2. Maxis010

Maxis010 Enthusiast

+2
    All I can think of is manually empty your site cache, assuming you have FTP go to <forum directory>/cache/ and delete EVERYTHING except for .htaccess and index.htm

3. phreakwars

phreakwars Wakka Wakka Wakka

+13
    Usually when I have seen that happen, the person has them-self or the board assigned a default theme that is no longer installed/ they uninstalled without refreshing the cache or changing the settings in the ACP.

Just navigate to www.yoursite.com/adm and login that way to correct the error. You can try clearing the cache manually, but usually what happens with that type of message, the board is trying to find the style that has been set in the SQL, clearing the cache will do nothing.

4. Maxis010

Maxis010 Enthusiast

+2
    No offence phreakwars but read the posts before you reply, he can't log in to the ACP.

The style error will block the ACP login page as it is effected by the active style.

5. phreakwars

+13
    No it isn't. The admin panel run's on it's own style found under /adm/style

Try it and see. navigate to adm/index.php

This will IN THE LEAST, give you the default theme's login page (ucp.php).

Least it does for me, but then, I did rewrite the "Error 40x" errors to redirect.

http://www.mywebsite.com/adm/ucp.php?mode=login allows me to get to the ACP without using the default theme.

6. Maxis010

Maxis010 Enthusiast

+2