Chrome plans to cripple ad blockers

Discussion in 'Internet and Technology' started by MagicalAzareal, May 29, 2019.

1. MagicalAzareal

MagicalAzareal Magical Developer

+206
    • Informative! Informative! x 1
    • List
  2. mysiteguy

mysiteguy Administrator

+2,279
    Fantastic news. Hopefully it will put a dent in the number of leaches visiting.

3. doubt

doubt Tazmanian

+2,062
    They might change their mind when Chrome users change to other browsers.

• Also Wondering! Also Wondering! x 1
    • List
  4. MarkFL

MarkFL La Villa Strangiato

+1,844
    I've been using Firefox for 15 years now, and I'm a loyal fan, but if they took away my ability to block ads, I'd find another browser real quicklike. :)

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. cheat_master30

cheat_master30 Moderator

+1,079
    Same here. UBlock origin has been a godsend, and I install similar plugins on every browser I use.

6. R0binHood

R0binHood Habitué

+1,033
    No way am I ditching ublock for any of my personal PC's, business computers and those of friends and family.

If this happens we'll switch to firefox straight away. No brainer.

7. Alfa1

Alfa1 Administrator

+2,701
    • List
  8. LeadCrow

LeadCrow Apocalypse Admin

+2,181
    If you browse mostly at home, you might want to consider setting up a cheap pihole as an DNS server. It will remove ads and tracking scripts at that device's level, so you might not need ad blockers installed on all your mobile devices, browsers and smartv...

More https://pi-hole.net/

• Like Like x 1
    • List
  9. Anakin

Anakin Neophyte

+2
    Ah, Google doing the evil things they swore not to do.

LeadCrow Pihole works at DNS level only. Content blockers also work for, well, content. For example, you can't block Youtube ads at DNS level, but you can with a content blocker like uBlock Origin installed in the browser.

• Informative! Informative! x 2
    • List
  10. Joeychgo

Joeychgo TAZ Administrator

+3,458