Advantages/Disadvantages on MyBB

Discussion in 'MyBB' started by Ashley S, Dec 17, 2015.

1. Ashley S

Ashley S Adherent

+125
    I don't know why but MyBB is just.. awesomeness!
    I find it easy to manage things in the ACP, MCP etc.

Do you own a MyBB forum?
    What are your disadvantages on MyBB and what do you like most?

My only disadvantage is there's not many themes being made for MyBB 1.8.

2. Jayfore

Jayfore Aspirant

+6
    I have been using MyBB since 2010, coming from phpBB. I am very happy with it, though there don't seem to be as many active plugin developers anymore. With the new version, lots of additional features have been added so this makes a number of the plugins no longer necessary. I plan to keep using it because it works well and it's easy to manage.

3. Shawn Gossman

Shawn Gossman Tazmanian Master

+1,947
    Advantages: To me the looks, MyBB is probably the nicest looking free forum around. The updates are good too, they update it more than SMF and PhpBB combined updates.

Disadvantages: Many modern features in most software is not in MyBB, like paid subscriptions, or at least it wasn't back when I used it. If I were to use a free software though, I would probably be MyBB or ElkArte if it is still going which is a fork of SMF.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. AllanD

AllanD Habitué

+164
    I have tried mybb a couple of times and for some reason I just can't seem to like it. I want to really bad but I just can't.

5. r3v0lution

r3v0lution Enthusiast

+48
    See you decided against Xenforo?? Why pushed you away?

6. Joe.

Joe. Adherent

+207
    Advantages: Its free, user friendly and easy to maintain.
    Disadvantages: Its not the most feature packed or secure software out there.

7. Shawn Gossman

Shawn Gossman Tazmanian Master

+1,947
    Not the most secure you say? Why do you say that?